Russia bans entry to 7 UK citizens in response to London sanctions



MOSCOW, December 17. / TASS /. Moscow is barring entry to seven British citizens involved in anti-Russian activities in response to similar restrictions imposed by London against the same number of Russian citizens, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said in a comment on Friday. official.

“In response to hostile actions from London, and on the basis of the principle of reciprocity, Russia has taken the decision to impose personal sanctions against the same number of British citizens deeply involved in anti-Russian activities. banned from entering the Russian Federation, the diplomat said.

The commentary stressed that Russia considers the unmotivated London explosion “a practical confirmation of the British government’s intention to continue to follow the destructive course of bilateral relations.”

“We regret to state that the consequent rise in the steering wheel of sanctions by the British authorities cancels all the attempts made by the Russian side at different levels to bring international relations back to a constructive path,” the statement said. “Once again, we call on the British authorities to abolish the line of confrontation concerning our country. No hostile measure will be left without a proportional response,” Zakharova added.

On August 20, British authorities imposed sanctions on seven Federal Security Service (FSB) employees, whom they believe were involved in the Alexey Navalny incident. This is the second package of sanctions, imposed following the blogger’s incident. In October last year, British authorities imposed restrictions on six Russian citizens, including the first deputy head of the presidential administration Sergey Kiriyenko and FSB director Alexander Bortnikov.



Comments are closed.