Taiwan Updates Entry Restrictions In Light Of Omicron – Coronavirus (COVID-19) Variant



Taiwan: Taiwan updates entry restrictions in light of Omicron variant

To print this article, simply register or connect to Mondaq.com.

On November 26, 2021, Taiwan announced that it would add six African countries – South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini and Zimbabwe – to its list of “key high-risk countries”, effective of November 29, 2021. Effective December 1, Taiwan also added Malawi, Mozambique, Egypt and Nigeria to the list of top high-risk countries. People who have traveled to any of these ten countries in the past fourteen days must self-quarantine at government group quarantine facilities for fourteen days and complete an additional period of self-health management. seven days. The announcements are part of Taiwan’s efforts to slow the spread of the omicron variant of the coronavirus.

Quarantine requirements for arriving travelers

The addition of ten African countries to the list of top high-risk countries follows Taiwan’s extension of entry restrictions linked to the pandemic until February 2022. Arriving travelers who have not visited “major high-risk countries” in the past 14 days will be required to take a deep throat saliva test and PCR test on arrival at an airport or port in Taiwan and take a quarantine vehicle to a hotel in quarantine or a group quarantine center where they plan to complete the quarantine at their own expense. As of December 14, these travelers will also be required to undergo a PCR test on the 9e or 10e quarantine day, organized by the local government. If the test result is negative, the 11e day, these people can take a quarantine taxi home or go to a residence of family or friends to undergo the last four days of quarantine (days 11-14).

Thus, from December 14 until February 14, if the test results are negative, these travelers can return home to complete the quarantine period. Arriving travelers will also need to take a PCR test one day before the end of their quarantine.

Most foreign nationals still banned from entering

The entry of most foreign nationals continues to be suspended under the direction of the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) of Taiwan. Only foreign nationals holding a foreign resident card (ARC) are allowed to enter. Exceptions are considered on a case-by-case basis for emergencies and humanitarian reasons, and CECC approval for entry is required.

Please continue to follow COVID-19 legal developments on our blog, The Mobile Workforce.

Visit us on mayerbrown.com

Mayer Brown is a global provider of legal services comprising law firms that are separate entities (the “Mayer Brown Practices”). The Mayer Brown Firms are: Mayer Brown LLP and Mayer Brown Europe – Brussels LLP, two limited liability companies established in Illinois in the United States; Mayer Brown International LLP, a limited liability company incorporated in England and Wales (authorized and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and registered in England and Wales under number OC 303359); Mayer Brown, a SELAS established in France; Mayer Brown JSM, a partnership of Hong Kong and its associated entities in Asia; and Tauil & Checker Advogados, a Brazilian law partnership in which Mayer Brown is associated. “Mayer Brown” and the Mayer Brown logo are registered trademarks of Mayer Brown Practices in their respective jurisdictions.

© Copyright 2020. The Practices of Mayer Brown. All rights reserved.

This article by Mayer Brown provides information and commentary on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing does not constitute a complete treatment of the matter at hand and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action on the matters discussed in this document.

POPULAR POSTS ON: Taiwan Coronavirus (COVID-19)



Comments are closed.